Wicklow Travellers Group Ltd. is a voluntary community development organization that is comprised of Travellers and members of the majority population. The group is committed to achieving human rights for Irish Travellers.

 The origins of Wicklow Travellers’ Group (WTG) can be traced to the work of Sister Caitriona Geraghy O.P. with an ad hoc group of Travellers in 1992 to respond to the accommodation needs of Travellers on the roadside in Co. Wicklow. Initially, this group’s core activities related to supporting a group of 17 Traveller families in securing accommodation through the courts.

Parallel with this work, a group of approximately 20 or so Traveller women began to meet regularly in Wicklow Town.
This group of women identified a need for training and development opportunities for Traveller women in the area. In 1993, a part-time training programme for Traveller women was developed as an element of WTG’s basic commitment to community development with Travellers in the Wicklow area.

Company Limited by Guarantee with Charitable Status (CHY. No. 11870). Registered in Ireland Number 248913
Charities Regulatory Authority number (CRA) 20033576

Directors: Isobel O’Duffy (Chairperson), Brendan Hyland (Assistant Chairperson), Máirín Kenny (Company Secretary), Aileen Cussen (Treasurer), Kathleen Snell (Assistant Treasurer), Kathleen Berry, Ian Daly, Mary O’Brien